growing up good

mothering, homeschooling, and me

Play dough fail…

Leave a comment

So Tuesday was National Play Dough Day. Or so a dozen people on facebook told me.  We had no morning plans, so I thought it would be a great day to make playdough. Yes, make it.  It’s actually quite easy to make, but I’ll admit it’s been awhile since I’ve made it, like since before Mary came along while. I happen to just love the smell of the real stuff, and it’s pretty inexpensive, especially when you get it on sale during the holidays. But on National Play Dough Day I thought it was only fitting that I make it myself. So  I gathered my materials and 2 munchkin helpers, and we set out to make two separate batches of play dough. The recipe I use is as follows: 1 cup flour, 1 cup water, 1/4 cup salt, 2 tsp cream of tartar, 1 tablespoon oil, and food coloring. Mix, cook, knead, cool, and play. Easy peasy, right?


I had a pan for each batch, and let each child measure (or help measure) the ingredient and choose their color.  You can see all the ingredients, except water sitting out on the counter.  Notice what I’m missing?

We didn’t even notice that we hadn’t added the oil. I didn’t even remember, even when our dough ball looked a little ragged, like this:

When did I realize I had left out the oil? When I was scraping it off the table with a BLADE later.  Holy cow. Add the oil, people! I was too frustrated to remember to take a picture, but trust me, most of the dough ball ended up in a thin layer on my kitchen table. And it dries. Fast. As frustrated I was with the clean up, my kids didn’t notice. They were happy to help me “cook” in the kitchen, got to play with play dough with tools and bug stampers, and they didn’t have to help me scrape it off the table.

Author: Growing Up Good

Mom of 3 under 6. Expert coffee drinker. Homeschooler. Wanna-be-sewer. From-scratch cooker. And pizza orderer.

Leave a Reply

