growing up good

mothering, homeschooling, and me

Organization Oops.

Leave a comment

At a friend’s house one day, I noticed how nicely organized her front closet was. She had one of those closet shoe organizers things- the kind that hangs from the bar and holds the shoes in little cubbies. She stored her kids’ smaller games, puzzles, decks of cards, etc in that organizer. I thought it was a great idea, and knew our front closet, aka the toy-time-out closet, was in dire need of organization.

About a year later, I finally got around to doing it.

And, I decided, if the shoe organizer works for smaller puzzles, I bet the sweater organizer works for larger puzzles and games!

I’ll tell you right now: it doesn’t.

It looks all nice and pretty at first. But soon, soon, the hooks will strain under the weight of the boxes and boxes of puzzles and games you crammed into the shelves meant to hold items like sweaters, that don’t weigh nearly as much.

Soon, your great plans of toy closet organization will be hanging by threads.

Here’s the before and after.

See that metal cart on the right? The problem may have been accelerated when I tried to shove it in the closet, not knowing it was stuck on one of the puzzles. Sigh. I might be able to save it yet, but I’ll need to figure out a way to reinforce the top. I really, really hope I can make it work, the puzzles fit perfectly! In the meantime, I had to take a bunch of the puzzles out, pretty much defeating the purpose of it in the first place. Maybe I should think about downsizing our puzzle collection.

Here’s a close-up of the rip that’s started at the top:

The good news is that the smaller organizer is still going strong- I’m calling that one a success!

Author: Growing Up Good

Mom of 3 under 6. Expert coffee drinker. Homeschooler. Wanna-be-sewer. From-scratch cooker. And pizza orderer.

Leave a Reply

