growing up good

mothering, homeschooling, and me

Veggie Soup #2

Leave a comment

 

You can see I’m on a soup kick lately. This is the 3rd soup I’ve made in a month (and we were gone for a week of that month). I think I’m going to make it (making soup) a weekly tradition. This is a variation of the veggie soup I posted yesterday. It was inspired by the desire to have a corn chowder, but wanted more veggies in it. So, I came up with this combination based on what I had in the fridge and what I thought the kids would eat.  I was out of bacon, or I would have started with that, but this soup was divine the way it was. It was devoured by Edison and Mary- I almost thought they were going to lick their bowls! Elliot ate enough, and said it was good, but he didn’t seem as excited as his siblings (he was also worried about getting to pick his cookie first for dessert).  Again I used chicken broth, but if you’ve got a veggie stock you can surely use that. Salt and pepper at the end to your taste. I found that I did’t have to do much seasoning. If you try this, let me know! I’d love to know what you think!
DSC_0084You will need:

1 onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic (or more, or less), minced

2 stems celery, chopped

Olive oil

4 carrots, peeled and sliced

4 small potatoes, scrubbed, peeled, and diced

6 cups chicken broth or 6 cups water+bouillion

1 cup kale, chopped (or spinach)

1 cup frozen corn

1 cup frozen peas

3 Tablespoons corn starch

3/4-1 cup half and half or milk

salt and pepper

shredded cheese (I like sharp cheddar)

chopped green onion (optional)

Start the same way as in the first veggie soup: onions, garlic, celery in a big pot with olive oil. Saute until tender.

Add carrots and potatoes.

Add chicken broth or water+bouillon. bring to a boil. Turn down heat and simmer approx 20 minutes, until the carrots and potatoes are tender.

Add Kale. Stir.

Add corn and peas. Stir. Heat through.

Put the corn starch in a bowl. Add half and half. Whisk. Slowly pour into the soup. Stir.

At this point I like to add about a handful of shredded sharp cheddar, but you don’t have to. It’s good enough on it’s own, I just love cheese.

Serve hot, top with a sprinkle of shredded cheese and some sliced green onions (if you wish).

If you want to YUM it up a notch, start with about 3-4 slices of bacon, diced. Saute until crispy and THEN start with onions, garlic, and celery, omitting the olive oil. Also- leftover meats- like chicken or ham or sausage- would be good in it too- if they’re cooked throw them in with the corn and peas.

I love it when my family likes something I’ve created. 🙂 Here they are!

2012 12 December 2

 

 

Author: Growing Up Good

Mom of 3 under 6. Expert coffee drinker. Homeschooler. Wanna-be-sewer. From-scratch cooker. And pizza orderer.

Leave a Reply

