growing up good

mothering, homeschooling, and me

Getting Packages!

2 Comments

The doorbell rings, the familiar double-ring we’ve been hearing a lot lately, right around lunchtime. They squeal and giggle and dance and run to the door. This time, instead of packages waiting on the doorstep, our postman is waiting, packages in hand with our mail and packages, ready to hand them over. The last two days he rang the bell twice, then left the packages on the steps. Both times Elliot ran out in his socks to greet him at the curb (we’re on a motor route) and get our mail. Today, the postman thought he’d save me some laundry. THAT was really kind!

Today our package was from my brother and his fiancee. Can I gush for a moment on how much I adore her? Not only is she incredibly sweet to my brother, but she’s wonderful to my children. She encourages us to visit, opening their home to us and not even batting an eye at the chaos that follows. She is so patient with them, and actually has games and activities waiting for them! In my experience, people in their 30s who don’t have children, don’t usually act like that! So yeah, she’s pretty great.

I had the camera handy, so I slowed them down, got the scissors, and let them open the package having no idea what we’d find inside. The kids were giddy!

Mary wonders what's inside.

Mary wonders what’s inside.

Elliot is pretty sure he knows it's presents!

Elliot is pretty sure he knows it’s presents!

It IS presents!

It IS presents!

Elliot: Hey! This says my name! This one is TO ME!

Elliot: Hey! This says my name! This one is TO ME!

Mary: That's MY name!

Mary: That’s MY name!

Elliot: These need to go under the tree!!!!

Elliot: These need to go under the tree!!!!

Elliot: These are going to look great under the tree!

Elliot: These are going to look great under the tree!

There they are! They had helped Kyle wrap presents for me last night, but JUST realized (it's about noon here) that there were a few more under the tree that were for them. NOW I get to keep an extra eye on that tree to make sure there's no peeking!

There they are! They had helped Kyle wrap presents for me last night, but JUST realized (it’s about noon here) that there were a few more under the tree that were for them. NOW I get to keep an extra eye on that tree to make sure there’s no peeking!

 

Thanks Uncle Joe and Sarah for thinking of us! We’re waiting patiently until Christmas to open them!

 

 

 

Author: Growing Up Good

Mom of 3 under 6. Expert coffee drinker. Homeschooler. Wanna-be-sewer. From-scratch cooker. And pizza orderer.

2 thoughts on “Getting Packages!

  1. Anna, thanks for posting the kids’ reactions. I know that the littlest things in the mail make them excited. And gosh darnit, you made me tear up…big time. Thank you for “getting me” and being part of my family. Love you!

  2. I’m glad I had the camera handy! They are thrilled when they find out something’s from you (and Joe, too, I suppose)!! 🙂 They start doing a little dance and can’t hardly wait for me to get the box open. Lord help me when they figure out that they probably could tear it open themselves! And PS…we can’t be happier that our families our merging! We’re a crazy lot with a lot of big personalities, and you seem to take it all in stride. For that I’m really grateful!

Leave a Reply

