growing up good

mothering, homeschooling, and me

I love creative play.

Leave a comment

There are times when I wonder if my children really know how to play with anything the right way.  On any given day, the pink toy high chair is on it’s side, the batcave is upside down and propped up on a cardboard construction block, star wars figures are scattered and more resemble a bomb filled with these figures went off in our playroom than any sort of constructive play, and puzzle pieces lay in disarray all over the floor. It’s not just the messes that drive me crazy, it’s the crashing, the dropping, the swinging of toys- not constructive play, but destructive play that happens that bothers me as well. It’s a source of frustration that keeps me trying to figure out the best possible way to store and organize toys while simultaneously allowing free choice of play AND limit messes. I’ve yet to come up with a solution that works.

However, organizational challenges are not the point of this post. I just meant to give a little background to some of the issues we face when it come to the kids’ playing.

At this point, Elliot is only allowed to play video games on the weekend. It just takes away the daily questions of “Can I play Mario?” “NO? Why not?” “When can I play Mario?” “Can I play it now?”. It got to the point where I felt so much energy was spent either asking to play the WII/playstation, playing, and talking about it, we needed to take a step back. So now he only gets to play on the weekends, and it’s working.

Unless he gets those privileges taken away. Then he gets to go without. And if his mouth keeps going the way it’s been, he just might find himself on Christmas morning with a new game and not being able to play it, but that, too, is a post for a different day.

THIS is actually, before I got on a rambling tangent, a sweet post. A post-weekend-breakfast, no video games, mommy-turned-on-Face-The-Nation so we can’t watch Disney, look what my incredibly creative kids got caught playing kind of post (insert a whole bunch of hyphens in there to make it grammatically correct).

Star Wars Restaurant.

Yeah, I’m sure you’re shocked at the Star Wars (though I can’t remember how much I’ve actually mentioned my husband’s and children’s obsession on here).  But the kids informed us they made a restaurant for their Star Wars guys, and we had to come check it out.

See each little cluster of guys? They're "sitting" at  their tables, enjoying their food.

See each little cluster of guys? They’re “sitting” at their tables, enjoying their food.

An upright high chair, where the Wompa sits at his orange table.

An upright high chair, where the Wompa sits at his orange table. In the background, you can see that Robin has joined C3PO and R2 at their table, made of a bread slice.

And off on the distance, connected with a lid to a storage bin, there are 2 more tables for the overflow crowd, along with the bus that gets them out to their table.

And off on the distance, connected with a lid to a storage bin, there are 2 more tables for the overflow crowd, along with the bus that gets them out to their table.

They played like this, TOGETHER, for a long time. Oh how I love it when they do this! I wish it was more often.  Elliot does little configurations like this at night in his room, when he’s supposed to be going to sleep. It just goes to show how creative and constructive and cohesive they can be when electronic stimuli are taken away.

Author: Growing Up Good

Mom of 3 under 6. Expert coffee drinker. Homeschooler. Wanna-be-sewer. From-scratch cooker. And pizza orderer.

Leave a Reply

