growing up good

mothering, homeschooling, and me

Leftover Turkey, cranked up a notch, 2 ways!

Leave a comment

Last weekend I roasted a turkey breast. I follow Ina Garten’s recipe here. The only substitutions I make are dried herbs, at roughly 1/3 the quantity, for the fresh herbs (because I never seem to have all the fresh herbs on hand, especially in the winter). It’s delicious, and becoming my staple roasting recipe.

Usually when I’ve got turkey leftovers, I make a delicious and comforting cheesy turkey concoction that goes great on a crusty roll.  However, I’m trying to lighten it up a bit this month, and came up with 2 great ways to use my leftover turkey in a healthier way.

Yes, you could just make a turkey sandwich, use light may and once slice of bread. That thought did cross my mind. But I’m in the mindset right now to cram as many veggies in per meal as I can, so here’s what I did. You can include everything but the cucumbers and avocado and have the core components of 2 meals at once. I’ll include the details of the 2 below.

All ingredients are estimates, increase/decrease as your taste desires (and if you don’t have that much turkey, that’s ok, just up the veggies):

3-4 cups cooked, de-boned, and chopped turkey

1/4 chopped onion (green, red, yellow, whatever)

1-2 cloves garlic, chopped

3/4 cup diced cucumber

1/2 red pepper, diced

2 Tbs cilantro, chopped

1 avocado, sliced and chunked

Seasoning: I used 2 tsp of Wildtree’s Adobe Lime Rub (which was AMAZING), but you could use a fajita or taco seasoning, or just salt and pepper, whatever your taste is, really! I’d recommend a squeeze of citrus, it adds a great flavor!

Gently mix together, it will look like this:

DSC_0157

Option 1: Flavorful Southwest Turkey Avocado Salad

Serve as-is on a bed of lettuce. Dress with a mexi-ranch dressing (light, if you wish), a lite-sour cream/salsa combo, or light ranch (which was my choice).  Top with a sprinkle of cheese if you like (I love cheese), tomatoes too.

Option 2: SW Avocado-Turkey Wrap

This was the recipe that inspired the salad. I mixed in 2 Tbs of lite mayo to the above mixture, spooned a couple scoops onto a wheat tortilla (I found ones that are lower in fat, calories and carbs than the ones we usually get, but not as expensive as the low-carb option!), topped with some shredded lettuce, tomatoes and cheese, and wrapped it up. For this part I didn’t add the avocado to the mixture, but sliced the halved avocado and put  the slices on top before I wrapped it up. It was delish!

Other ingredients that would taste great with this mixture:

black beans

corn

tortilla strips (the chip kind)

those taco-salad chip bowls

Author: Growing Up Good

Mom of 3 under 6. Expert coffee drinker. Homeschooler. Wanna-be-sewer. From-scratch cooker. And pizza orderer.

Leave a Reply

